

FAQs

My organization isn't a certified non-profit agency. Are we still eligible to sponsor a license plate?

Yes. Anyone—including individuals, non-profit organizations, and for-profit entities—can propose a design to My Plates.

Why do we have to submit a deposit?

A deposit covers the total cost for design, programming and producing your organization's license plate whether through My Plates or the TxDMV. The \$8,000 deposit for a plate benefitting a non-profit organization through the TxDMV process will be refunded when 800 sets of your organization's license plates are sold or renewed.

If my organization doesn't sell 800 or more license plates after going through the TxDMV approval process, where does our deposit go?

Your deposit remains with TxDMV until sales of your license plate meet the statutory threshold of 800 renewals or new applications.

Can my organization's specialty plate be available only to individuals that meet certain criteria?

Yes. For example, the department currently offers a license plate for which only licensed Realtors[®] are entitled. However, remember that adding qualifications will restrict the number of potential purchasers, and could result in keeping your organization from meeting its refund threshold.

Does my organization have to reapply if our proposal is not approved, or will it be reconsidered?

Your organization must reapply for your proposal to be reconsidered.

ΕXA

Who provides the plate design?

You do, though your design is subject to reflectivity, legibility, and graphic standards. Depending on which approval route you choose, My Plates or TxDMV will work with your organization to help you understand those standards.

How much money does a sponsoring state agency receive from the sale of a plate sold through TxDMV?

Of the \$30 fee collected for each specialty plate approved through the TxDMV and sold in the state of Texas, \$22 goes to the sponsoring state agency.

Is it possible to request that funds received from license plate sales benefit the applying non-profit organization?

Yes, this is possible if your proposal goes through My Plates. This is also possible for plates approved administratively or legislatively.

Is the TxDMV, or My Plates, under an obligation to produce my specialty license plate design?

No. New plates are either approved by the TxDMV Board or by the Texas Legislature.







PROPOSING A SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATE



KEEP TEXAS WILD

IEXAS

Texas Department *of* Motor Vehicles www.TxDMV.gov REV 01/2022

Sunshine BB01B ENDY TEXAS MUSIC	THERE BUDGUS THERE BUGGUS to get your specialty license plate on the road			WETLAND CONSERVATION		T E X BB
MY PLATES	Who's eligible?	Who gets the revenue?	Do I need to find a state sponsor?	How long does the process take?	What are the plate design requirements?	
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) contracted with My Plates to design, market, and sell new license plate designs, and My Plates may be the first stop for any group, for-profit or non-profit, to request a plate. This process requires a deposit of \$8,000, which includes \$6,738 for TxDMV startup costs and \$1,262 for My Plates' design and startup costs. Your organization may benefit by a contractual royalty agreement with My Plates. My Plates will also require you to verify public demand for a proposed new plate by means of achieving at least 200 pre-paid commitments.	 Non-profit organization For-profit entity Any individual 	The state, My Plates, and your organization. Proceeds received from specialty plates sales submitted through My Plates are set by your contractual agreement with My Plates, not by law.	No.	From the time the proposal is made, the approval process typically takes about twelve months before the plate is available to order. At least 200 pre- paid commitments must be collected within six months of the TxDMV Board's contingent approval before the plate will be produced.	Must meet standards in: Legibility Reflectivity Graphics Using this method to create license plates allows you a larger variety of design options, like having your plate created in full color.	

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

2 TxDMV can administratively approve new license plate designs that benefit state agencies or charities. Your qualifying non-profit organization must complete the department's application and, if it is approved, submit an \$8,000 deposit, which will be refunded when 800 sets of your organization's license plates are sold or renewed. A representative from your organization must complete TxDMV's license plate sponsorship application, which includes information about your organization and proof that your organization qualifies as a non-profit organization with the Internal Revenue Service.

STATE LEGISLATURE

3

The Texas Legislature has the ability to create new license plates and is the sole option for plates offered at reduced or no fee to qualified applicants (e.g. military). Because of the volume of legislative requests for new specialty license plates filed during each legislative session, the Legislature specifically granted TxDMV and My Plates the ability to create new plates without legislative intervention. Except for plates honoring our military, a legislatively created license plate requires the sponsor to submit an \$8,000 deposit to the TxDMV which is refunded after 800 plates are sold or renewed.

Non-profit organizations

Nominating organizations must reach an agreement with a qualifying state agency or TxDMV. Your state agency sponsor will receive \$22 of the \$30 fee collected for every set of specialty plates sold and renewed.

Your organization can work with its state agency sponsor to determine where proceeds can be sent.

Yes. If unable to find a sponsor, proceeds go to TxDMV for motor vehicle services. From the time the proposal is made, the approval process typically takes about twelve months before the plate is available to order.

Must meet standards in:

- Legibility
- Reflectivity
- Graphics

An online design template is available on the TxDMV website to assist you.

For more information about TxDMV's license plate approval process, visit www.TxDMV.gov.

 Any individual Maybe. Must meet standards in: The fee amount and It takes approximately twelve months after the distribution of revenue Legibility New license plates License plates is set by the Legislature. bill becomes law before Reflectivity created through this created by the the plate is available to • Graphics process tend to be for Legislature order. the benefit of state typically • An online design agencies, or to recognize benefit state template is available on service, such as military. agencies. the TxDMV website to assist you.

To contact your legislator, find out who represents you by visiting www.fyi.legis.state.tx.us.