

Military Packet to Title and Register Your Vehicle

To transfer your vehicle to Texas follow the steps outlined below. Forms and instructions to follow:

Step 1. Obtain insurance meeting the state's minimum requirements.

Step 2. Obtain a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued by a vehicle inspection station or complete an enclosed *Vehicle Identification Number Certification* (Form VTR-270).

Step 3. Provide proof of military service or Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) along with a copy of your current government issued photo identification.

Step 4. Complete an Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U), enclosed.

Step 5. If you are applying for a Texas title and registration you will need:

- a. The current title or Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (if a new unregistered vehicle)
- b. To check the 'Title and Registration' box on the Form 130-U.

If you are applying for **registration purposes only** (no title will be issued) you will need:

- a. Your current out of state registration receipt, and
- b. To check the 'Registration Purposes Only' box on the Form 130-U.

Step 6. Because we all enjoy the Texas roads and scenery, each vehicle registered in Texas pays fees.

Fees

Fees will include:

- Title application fee \$28.00 or \$33.00 (varies by county)
- Local county fees up to \$31.50 (varies by county)
- DPS electronic insurance verification fee \$1.00
- State portion of the vehicle inspection fee \$2.75 \$30.75 (varies by county, vehicle type, and vehicle use)

Since fees vary by county, be sure to check with your county for specific amounts. County tax office information is available online at www.txdmv.gov/tax-assessor-collectors/county-tax-offices/.

Taxes

If you are a Texas resident and have not previously paid Texas sales tax on the vehicle, you will pay either a 6.25% sales tax or the difference of the full sales tax previously paid to another state. For used vehicles the value of the vehicle will be determined at the county and is based on the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) of the vehicle or sales price (whichever is higher). An SPV calculator is available on our home page at www.TxDMV.gov. More information can be obtained by calling the State Comptroller's office at (800) 252-1382 or by visiting www.comptroller.texas.gov.

More Important Information

To allow someone to register and title on your behalf, you can provide a *Limited Power of Attorney for Eligible Motor Vehicle Transactions* (Form VTR-271), enclosed, in addition to the required paperwork.

Insurance

Texas law requires the following minimum amounts of coverage on your vehicle:

- 🗐 🖅 \$30,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
- 🕸 👁 \$60,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, with a \$30,000 limit for one person
- ⓓ ☞ \$25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

"No fault" insurance is not considered valid proof of financial responsibility in Texas. However, proof of financial responsibility from out of state or out of country is acceptable if the insurance company is licensed to do business in Texas and reflects the above minimum amounts.

Safety Inspections

Most vehicles registered in Texas must pass an annual safety inspection. Some counties also have emissions testing requirements. Please check with your county for requirements.

Texas approved inspection stations conduct vehicle inspections and VIN verifications. Many mechanics, repair facilities, and full-service stations are approved to perform the inspections. Look for the state inspection sign at their place of business. For more information, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) at (512) 424-7293 or visit their website at <u>www.dps.texas.gov</u>. You will need to present valid proof of liability insurance in order to receive your VIR.

Importing Vehicles

Your vehicle must meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Information on the safety standards can be found at https://icsw.nhtsa.gov/cars/rules/import/. More information concerning duty or other customs matters is available from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection, https://www.cbp.gov/. Military personnel are not required to complete a *Law Enforcement Identification Number Inspection* (Form VTR-68-A).

A certified English translation of any document printed in any language other than English must be provided.

To title and register your vehicle the following is required:	To register your vehicle the following is required:				
VIR or VIN Certification (Form VTR-270)	VIR or VIN Certification (Form VTR-270)				
Proof of Insurance	Proof of Insurance				
Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings	Proof of military service or Leave and Earnings				
Statement (LES)	Statement (LES)				
A copy of your current government issued photo I.D.	A copy of your current government issued photo I.D.				
Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form	Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form				
130-U)	130-U)				
The current title (or MCO if a new unregistered vehicle)	The current out of state registration				
If importing from another country: USDOT Form HS-7, and US Customs, Form CBP 7501 (or other acceptable evidence)	Fees				
Fees					

Application for Texas Title and/or Registration

Applying for (please check one):			TAX OFFICE USE ONLY							
=		on Purposes C	only 🗆	Nontit	le Regist	tration	County:			
For a corrected title or registration, check reason:			Doc #:							
1. Vehicle Identification Number				tyle		6. Major		7. Minor Color		
	2.		5. Wake		4. Douy 3	cyle	S. Wouch	0. 1010/01	COIOI	
8. Texas License Plate No. 9. Odome	ter Reading (no tenths) 10	O This is the Actu	al Miloago	uploss th		, ic:	11. Empty Weight	1	12 Carryin	ng Capacity (if any)
8. Texas License Flate No. 9. Outline							11. Linpty Weight	-	LZ. Carryn	
		Not Actual 🗌 🛙	xceeds Me	ecnanica		_ Exempt				
13. Applicant Type			T	_		- C.	14. Applicant Phot	o ID Nun	nber or Fl	EIN/EIN
🗌 Individual 🛛 🗆 Busi			Trust		Non-Pr					
15. ID Type 🗌 U.S. Driver Licens	e/ID Card (issued by:)	🗆 NA	to id	🗌 U.S.	Dept. o	of State I	D
Passport (issued by:) U.S. Military ID U.S. Dept. of Homeland Secur					land Security ID					
	Immigration Services/D				🗌 Oth	ner Milita	ary Status of Force	es Photo		
16. Applicant First Name (or Entity Nar	ne)	Middle Name			Last Na	me			Suffix (if	any)
17. Additional Applicant First Name (if	applicable)	Middle Name			Last Na	me			Suffix (if	any)
18. Applicant Mailing Address		City			State		Zip	19. Ap	plicant Co	ounty of Residence
20. Previous Owner Name (or Entity N	ame)	City			State	21. Deale	r GDN (if applicable) 22. Un	it No. (if a	applicable)
								·		
23. Renewal Recipient First Name (or E	Entity Name) (if different)	Middle Name			Last Na	me			Suffix (if	anv)
24. Renewal Notice Mailing Address (if	different)	City			State				Zip	
24. Renewal Notice Maining Address (in	unerenty	City			State				Σip	
25 Applicant Dhana Numhan (antional					27			20.0-		
25. Applicant Phone Number (optional) 26. Email (optional)						Renewal eReminder Email in #26)			tion Impediment? Form VTR-216)
						(Provide	Email in #20)			1 FOITH VIR-216)
29. Vehicle Location Address (if differe	nt)	City			State				Zip	
									1	
30. Multiple (Additional) Liens	31. Electronic Title Reque		eTitle Lienł	nolder ID	Number	(if any)			33. First	Lien Date (if any)
☐ Yes (Attach Form VTR-267)	☐ Yes (Cannot check #	30)								
34. First Lienholder Name (if any)	Mailing Address		City				State		Zip	
35. Check only if applicable:		MOTOR VEH	CLE TAX S	TATEME	NT					
□ I hold Motor Vehicle Retailer (Ren							ninimum tax liabilit	y (V.A.T.	S., Tax Co	de §152.046[c])
☐ I am a dealer or lessor and qualify 36. Trade-In (if any) Year	to take the Fair Market Val Make	vehicle Ident			52.002[c]). GDN or	Lessor Number		37 Addi	tional Trade-In(s)
□ Yes (Complete)	Wake	venicie ident		IIIDEI					37. Addi	()
38. Check only if applicable:		SALES AND L								c5
	rebate has been deducted)					: Tax – (Pr	evious State)			
(b) Less Trade-in Amount, describ		\$ (Trade Tax					
(c) For Dealers/Lessors/Rental O	NLY – Fair Market Value			\$10 Gift	Tax – Atta	ach Comp	troller Form 14-317			
Deduction, described in Box 3		\$ (uilt Salvag					
(d) Taxable Amount (Item a minu(e) 6.25% Tax on Taxable Amoun		ې د خ				-	Vehicles 1996 and (
(f) Late Tax Payment Penalty \Box)					ehicles 1997 and Ne he Motor Vehicle Sa			
(g) Tax Paid to	(STATE)	\$		Exempti		a anaci t				an secure.
(h) AMOUNT OF TAX AND PENAL	· · ·	·		\$28 or \$	33 Applica	ation Fee	for Texas Title			
(Item e plus Item f minus Iten	ו g)	\$		(Contact	t your cou	nty tax as	sessor-collector for	the corr	ect fee.)	
CERTIFICATION – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony										
I hereby certify all statements in this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I am eligible for title and/or registration (as applicable).										
Signature(s) of Seller(s), Donor(s), or	Trader(s)		Printed N	Name(s)	(Same as S	Signature	(s))		Date	5
Signature of Applicant/Owner			Printed M	Name (Sa	ame as Sig	nature)			Date	2
Signature of Applicant/Owner Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date										
			. <u></u>		10					
Signature(s) of Additional Applicant(s)/Owner(s)		Printed I	Name(s)	(Same as S	Signature	s))		Date	5

General Instructions

With a few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information the department collects about you. The Texas Government Code entitles you to receive and review the information and to request that the department correct any information about you that is incorrect. Please contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles at 1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000 for details.

This form must be completed and submitted to your county tax assessor-collector accompanied by any required application fee, supporting documents, registration fee, if applicable, and any motor vehicle tax due. An application form may be reproduced or faxed. A completed form must contain the original signature of the buyer. The seller's signature may be reproduced or faxed. All title applications must include one of the government-issued photo IDs listed in Box 15. Detailed instructions for completing this form are located in the *Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration* (Form VTR-130-UIF).

AVAILABLE HELP

- For assistance in completing this form, contact your county tax assessor-collector.
- For information about motor vehicle sales and use tax or emission fees, contact the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Tax Assistance Section, at 1-800-252-1382 toll free nationwide or call 512-463-4600.
- For title or registration information, contact your county tax assessor-collector or the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles at 1-888-368-4689 or 512-465-3000.

Additional Details

Title Only: License plates and registration insignia previously issued for this motor vehicle must be surrendered in accordance with Transportation Code §501.0275, if applicable, unless this vehicle displays a license plate under an applicable status of forces agreement. The following types of vehicles are not eligible for Title Only: construction machinery (unconventional vehicles), water well drilling units, machinery used exclusively for drilling water wells, construction machinery not designed to transport persons or property, implements of husbandry, farm equipment (including combines), golf carts, slow moving vehicles, or any vehicle with a suspended or revoked title.

Registration Purposes Only: Do not surrender an original out of state title with this application. A Texas title will NOT be issued for a vehicle applying for Registration Purposes Only. The receipt issued upon filing this application will serve as the registration receipt and proof of application for Registration Purposes Only.

- <u>Foreign Vehicles</u>: Foreign vehicles applying for Registration Purposes Only must attach DOT Form HS-7 or U.S. Customs Form CF-7501 to indicate the vehicle is: 1) over 25 years old, or 2) complies with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, or 3) is being imported in the United States for a temporary period by a nonresident or a member of the armed forces of a foreign country on assignment in the U.S., and does not conform to the Federal Motor Vehicle Standards and cannot be sold in the U.S.
- **Nontitle Registration:** Certain trailers, farm equipment, construction machinery, oil well servicing machinery, water well drilling units, etc. are either exempt from, or not eligible for title, but are eligible for, or required to, obtain registration or a specialty plate in order to operate on the highway. Applicants should mark this box only when applicable. **Note**: A lien cannot be recorded on this type of application.

Out of State Vehicles: If the applicant certifies the vehicle is located out of state, self-certification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is allowed if a VIN verification form issued by a Texas state-approved safety inspection station is not included with the submission of this application. See *Vehicle Identification Number Certification* (Form VTR-270) for more information.

Notice

- The sales and use tax must be paid to the county tax assessor-collector within 30 days from the date of purchase or entry of the vehicle into Texas.
- A \$2.50 transfer fee is paid to transfer current registration to the new owner in addition to the title application fee and other applicable fees. If the registration is not current, full registration fees are due unless applying for Title Only.
- A 6.25 percent motor vehicle sales and use tax is imposed on the sales price (less trade-in allowance) of motor vehicles for use in Texas or a motor vehicle purchased outside of the state and later brought into this state by a Texas resident.
- Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) applies to private-party sales of most used motor vehicles purchased or brought into Texas. The tax is computed on the greater of the sales price or 80 percent of the SPV on the day of title application.
- New Texas residents are subject to a \$90 use tax on a vehicle brought into this state that was previously registered to the new resident in another state or foreign country. This is in lieu of the 6.25 percent use tax imposed on a Texas resident.
- A \$10 gift tax is due when a person receives a motor vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member, guardian, or a decedent's estate. A vehicle donated to, or given by, a non-profit service organization qualifying under IRC 501(c)(3) is also taxed as a gift. Both donor and recipient must sign the Comptroller's joint affidavit, *Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer* (Form 14-317). The affidavit and the title application must be submitted in person by either the donor or recipient.
- A transaction in which a motor vehicle is transferred to another person without payment of consideration and one that does not qualify as a gift described above is a sale and will be subject to tax calculated on the vehicle's standard presumptive value.
- A late penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax will be charged if the tax or surcharge is paid from 1 to 30 calendar days late. If more than 30 calendar days late, the penalty will be 10 percent of the tax; minimum penalty is \$1.
- In addition to the late tax payment penalty, Texas Transportation Code provides for an escalating delinquent transfer penalty of up to \$250 for failure to apply for title within 30 days from the date of title assignment. Submit this application along with proper evidence of ownership and appropriate valid proof of financial responsibility such as a liability insurance card or policy.
- All new residents applying for a Texas title and registration for a motor vehicle must file at the county tax assessor-collector of the county in Texas where the applicant resides within 30 days of establishing residency. Texas law requires that all vehicles previously registered and titled or registered in another state or country be inspected for safety and the vehicle identification number verified before such vehicles may be registered in Texas. These inspections must be made by a state appointed safety inspection station that will complete a Texas Vehicle Inspection Report. This form must be submitted to the county tax assessor-collector with your application for registration and Texas title.



Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration

Refer to the ownership document assigned to you by the seller for vehicle information/description.

Applying for (please check one): Select "Title & Registration" if applying for both, "Title Only" if applying for title, but not registration, "Registration Purposes Only" if applying only for registration, or "Nontitle Registration" if applicable. Refer to "Additional Details" on page 2 of the *Application for Texas Title and/or Registration* (Form 130-U) for details on these options.

For a corrected title or registration: If the application is submitted to correct a title or registration record, indicate the appropriate reason (Vehicle Description, Add/Remove Lien, or Other). If "Other" is selected, provide a brief explanation.

- 1. Vehicle Identification Number: Found on the certificate of title and also stamped or affixed on the vehicle [e.g., driver side door frame, dashboard (facing windshield), or on engine block on some 1955 vehicles and prior models].
- **2. Year:** The model year of the vehicle (e.g., 2004, 2011, 2020, etc.).
- 3. Make: Brand of vehicle designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Chevrolet, Ford, Toyota, BMW, etc.).
- **4. Body Style:** Description of vehicle (e.g., 2D = 2-door Sedan, CP = coupe, PK = pickup, etc.). Refer to *Standard Abbreviations for Vehicle Makes and Body Styles* (Form VTR-249) for more abbreviations.
- 5. Model: Vehicle model designated by the manufacturer (e.g., Silverado, F-150, Prius, 328i, etc.).
- 6. Major Color: If vehicle has one color, enter it in this field. For a vehicle with more than one color, the Major Color is the primary color that covers most, if not all, of the vehicle.
- 7. Minor Color: If the vehicle has more than one color, the predominant color must be shown as the Major Color and the secondary color as the Minor Color (e.g., standard two-toned vehicles, custom paint job, etc.).
- 8. Texas License Plate No.: Texas license plate number, if available.
- 9. Odometer Reading (no tenths): Current mileage on the vehicle odometer in whole numbers no tenths. If the vehicle is subject to odometer disclosure, the seller/agent is required by law to disclose the odometer reading at the time of sale. If the vehicle is exempt from odometer disclosure select "Exempt" in box 10.
- 10. This is the Actual Mileage unless the mileage is: If the odometer recorded in box 9 is not the true mileage of the vehicle, select "Not Actual" (broken or replaced odometer), "Exceeds Mechanical Limits," or "Exempt" as indicated by the seller/agent on the odometer disclosure on the ownership document of the vehicle. In situations involving operation of law (court order, repossessions, seized vehicles, etc.), the title applicant provides the odometer reading and brand.
- **11. Empty Weight:** Weight (in pounds) of the vehicle without a load, rounded up to the next 100 pounds.
- 12. Carrying Capacity: Weight (in pounds) determined by the heaviest load the vehicle is legally allowed to carry according to the vehicle manufacturer.
- 13. Applicant Type: Whether the applicant is an individual, business, government entity, trust, or non-profit.
- **14.** Applicant Photo ID Number or FEIN/EIN: The photo ID number of the individual or the FEIN/EIN of the business, government entity, trust, or non-profit. If an FEIN/EIN is not available, record the photo ID number of the individual submitting the application.
- **15. ID Type:** Check the box of the individual applicant's photo ID type, and (if applicable) record the state, territory, or country of the issuing jurisdiction.
- **16.** Applicant Name (or Entity Name): If the applicant/owner is a person, their legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, and Suffix, if any). If the applicant/owner is a business, government entity, trust, or non-profit, their legal name.
- 17. Additional Applicant Name: The legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, and Suffix, if any) of any additional applicant/ owner.
- **18.** Applicant Mailing Address: The mailing address of the applicant/owner.
- 19. Applicant County of Residence: The county of legal residence for the individual, business, government entity, trust, or non-profit.
- 20. Previous Owner/Entity Name: The seller's name, city, and state indicated on the assigned title or other evidence of ownership being surrendered with Form 130-U.

Detailed Instructions for Application for Texas Title and/or Registration

- 21. Dealer GDN: Dealer's General Distinguishing Number assigned by the state.
- 22. Unit No.: Applies to vehicles that are purchased as part of a fleet.
- **23.** Renewal Recipient Name (or Entity Name): The legal name (First Name, Middle Name, Last Name, and Suffix, if any or Entity Name) of the renewal recipient if different from the applicant/owner.
- 24. Renewal Notice Mailing Address: The mailing address of the renewal recipient if different from the applicant/owner.
- 25. Applicant Phone Number: The telephone number of the applicant/owner.
- 26. Email: The email address of the applicant/owner or registration renewal recipient.
- 27. Registration Renewal eReminder: Check if electing to receive electronic registration renewal reminders. Must list email in #26.
- **28.** Communication Impediment: Check if the applicant/owner has a health condition or disability that may impede communication with a peace officer and attach *Certification of a Communication Impediment* (Form VTR-216).
- 29. Vehicle Location Address: The physical address of the vehicle if not the same as the mailing address.
- **30.** Multiple (Additional) Liens: Check the box if more than one lien exists on the vehicle and attach Additional Liens Statement (Form VTR-267).
- **31.** Electronic Title Request: Check the box if the lienholder in #34 requests an electronic title, and enter the Certified Lienholder ID Number in #32. (If #30 is checked, then #31 cannot be checked.)
- 32. Certified Lienholder ID No.: Enter the 11-digit Certified Lienholder Identification Number here (required if #31 is checked).
- **33.** First Lien Date: If applicable, the date a security agreement was signed with any financial institution/individual for the financing of the vehicle.
- 34. First Lienholder Name and Mailing Address: The lienholder's name and mailing address. If there is no lien, indicate "NONE."
- **35.** Motor Vehicle Tax Statement: For Rental, Dealer, and/or Leasing Company use. Rental Companies must include their Rental Permit Number. Dealers must include their General Distinguishing Number (GDN). Lessors must include their Lessor Number.
- 36. Trade-In: Description of vehicle traded in on the purchase, if any.
- 37. Additional Trade-In(s): Check the box if trade included any vehicle(s) other than shown in #36.
- 38. Sales and Use Tax Computation: Sales and use tax must be paid. Indicate the vehicle sales price in the second space provided on Line (a). Rebates are only applicable for new vehicles sold by a dealership to a retail purchaser. (f) provides for a late tax payment penalty of 5% or 10% of the amount in (e). Check the appropriate box if you are a new resident to Texas, obtained the vehicle as an even trade or as a gift, or you are applying for a rebuilt salvage vehicle. The \$10 gift tax option may be used when a person receives a vehicle as a gift from an immediate family member, guardian, decedent's estate, or non-profit service organization qualifying under Internal Revenue Code, Sec.501(c)(3). Both the donor and the gift recipient must sign the Comptroller's joint affidavit, Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer (Form 14-317). The title application must be accompanied by the Comptroller's joint affidavit and must be filed in person by either the recipient or donor. If the vehicle is subject to the diesel emissions surcharge fee, compute the percentage (2.5% OR 1%) of the fee based on the Taxable Amount shown in (d). This fee is due in addition to the amount of tax due shown in (h). If claiming a tax exemption, provide a brief explanation for the reason.

Seller(s), Donor(s), or Trader(s): The signature(s), printed name(s), and date of signature(s) of the seller(s), donor(s), or trader(s) of the vehicle indicated on the title or other ownership document.

Applicant/Owner: The signature, printed name, and date of signature of the applicant/owner of the vehicle indicated on the title or other ownership document.

Additional Applicant(s)/Owner(s): The signature(s), printed name(s), and date of signature(s) of any additional owner(s) of the vehicle indicated on the title or other ownership document.

The completed *Application for Texas Title and/or Registration* (Form 130-U), properly assigned title, and proof of insurance (if applying for registration) in the applicant's name are required to be filed in the county where the sale occurred, where the lienholder is located, or applicant's county of residence within 30 days of the date of sale. Payment of title, registration, and sales tax fees (as applicable) are required when application for certificate of title is filed.

Refer to the back of the Form 130-U for phone numbers and additional information concerning fees, taxes, and penalties.



Vehicle Identification Number Certification

Information

This form may be used by a Texas resident in lieu of a Vehicle Inspection Report (obtained from a Texas vehicle safety inspection station) to self-certify a vehicle identification number (VIN) when a vehicle is not subject to Texas safety inspection requirements because the vehicle is exempt under state law, located out of state, or will not operate on Texas public roads.

A vehicle's record will include a "VIN CERTIFICATION WAIVED" remark when this form is used in lieu of a Vehicle Inspection Report or Form VTR-68-A (law enforcement VIN inspection form issued by the auto theft investigator completing the inspection). The "VIN CERTIFICATION WAIVED" remark remains on the record until a new application for Texas title is submitted with a Vehicle Inspection Report or Form VTR-68-A. Additionally, the vehicle's record will include a "VERIFY INSPECTION" remark if the vehicle is registered and subject to a Texas vehicle safety inspection, but is located out of state. This vehicle must obtain a passing vehicle inspection upon entry into Texas followed by a visit to the county tax assessor-collector's office to remove the "VERIFY INSPECTION" remark (a Vehicle Inspection Report is required if the inspection cannot be verified electronically).

Exemptions from Texas vehicle safety inspection are limited to (including vehicles currently meeting or registering as the following):

- trailers, semitrailers, pole trailers, or travel trailers with a current factory-delivery license plate or current in-transit license plate;
- vehicles with a paper dealer in-transit tag, machinery license, disaster license, parade license, prorate tab, one-trip permit, vehicle temporary transit permit, antique license, custom vehicle license, street rod license, temporary 24-hour permit, or permit license;
- trailers, semitrailers, pole trailers, or travel trailers with an actual gross weight or registered gross weight of 7,500 pounds or less:
- farm machinery, road-building equipment, a farm trailer, or a vehicle required to display a slow-moving-vehicle emblem;
- former military vehicles as defined by Section 504.502;
- vehicles eligible for registration, but not registered; and
- vehicles that cannot be registered for on-road use (off-highway use only). .

Note: Attach a pencil tracing or photograph of the vehicle identification number to this form when possible.

Vehicle Information							
Vehicle Identification Number	Year	Make	Body Style	Model			
Is the vehicle located out of state?	If yes, jurisdict	If yes, jurisdiction or state where the vehicle is currently located					
🗆 Yes 🔅 No							
Applicant/Owner Information							
First Name (or Entity Name)	Middle Name	Name Last Name		Suffix (if any)			
Additional Applicant First Name (if applicable)	Middle Name	Last Name		Suffix (if any)			
Address	City	State		Zip			
Certification – State law makes	s falsifying informati	on a third deg	ree felony				
I, the owner(s)/applicants(s) listed above, c permanent identification number to be as i	ndicated above, and the vel	•		ed and found the			
registered but is exempt from a Taxa	a vahiela cafaty increation						

- □ registered, but is exempt from a Texas vehicle safety inspection.
- \Box registered and is subject to a Texas vehicle safety inspection; however, the vehicle is located out of state.
- □ titled, but will not be operated on Texas public roads (Title Only registration will not be issued).
- □ titled, but ineligible for registration under Texas law.

Signature of Owner/Applicant Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date Signature of Additional Owner/Applicant (if any) Printed Name (Same as Signature) Date



Limited Power of Attorney for Eligible Motor Vehicle Transactions

Information

All sections of this form must be properly completed in order for this document to be accepted. Original signatures are required, only black or blue ink are acceptable, and no alterations are allowed on this form.

This completed and signed form grants the grantee, with full power of substitution, full power and authority to perform every act necessary and proper to purchase, transfer, and assign the legal title to the motor vehicle described on behalf of the grantor. "Full power of substitution" means that whoever is given this power of attorney may delegate that power by putting another person in his or her place by a substitute power of attorney.

<u>This power of attorney cannot be used in a dealer transaction to complete a title assignment on a motor vehicle subject</u> <u>to federal odometer disclosure</u>. In compliance with federal law, the secure *Power of Attorney for Transfer of Ownership to a Motor Vehicle* (Form VTR-271-A) must be used when use of a power of attorney is permitted by the applicable regulations for a vehicle subject to federal odometer disclosure.

If a power of attorney is used to apply for title, initial registration, or a certified copy of title, <u>the grantor (person signing this form)</u> and the grantee (person signing the application) must include a photocopy of their photo identification as required by state law.

Vehicle Information						
Vehicle Identification Number	Year	Make	Body Style	Model		
License Plate State and Number (if any)	Title/Document Number (if unknown, leave blank)					
Grantor Information						
First Name (or Entity Name)	Middle Name		Last Name	Suffix (if any)		
Address						
City	County		State	Zip		
Grantee Information						
First Name (or Entity Name)	Middle Name		Last Name	Suffix (if any)		
Address						
City	County		State	Zip		

Certification – State law makes falsifying information a third degree felony

I, the grantor of the county and state as listed above, owner of the motor vehicle described above, certify that I do make, constitute, and appoint the grantee of the county and state as listed above, or to anyone the grantee may substitute, my true and lawful attorney, for me and in my name, place, and stead to title, and to allow my attorney the authority to substitute as it pertains to the motor vehicle described above.

Signature of Grantor

Printed Name (Same as Signature)

Date