
TxDMV’s Role
Mediation 
If you are not satisfied with your settlement offer or your 
claim is denied, you can contact TxDMV and request 
mediation. A mediation request must be received at 
TxDMV within 30 days after the mover has responded to 
your claim with an unsatisfactory offer or denial of your 
claim, or if you do not receive a response from the 
mover after 90 days from the original claim.

Mediation is conducted by a neutral third party and 
coordinated by TxDMV at no cost to the shipper. Ideally, 
mediation will be held by telephone, by written submis-
sions or in person at TxDMV facilities in Austin, Texas. If 
mediation is unsuccessful, you may pursue the claim in a 
court of law at your expense.

Complaints 
If you have a complaint against a moving company in 
Texas, you can file a complaint with TxDMV by:

• Going online at: www.TxDMV.gov
• Calling us at: 1(888) 368-4689
• Emailing us at: TruckStop@TxDMV.gov

Interstate Moves 
Movers who transport shipments across state lines are 
regulated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety  
Administration (FMCSA). For more information on inter-
state moving companies or to file a complaint regarding 
an interstate move, visit: www.protectyourmove.gov or 
contact: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov; 1(800) 832-5660.

Need more help? 
Go to www.TxDMV.gov.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
Enforcement Division

1(888)368-4689
www.TxDMV.gov
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CHOOSING A LICENSED MOVER
All household goods motor carriers (movers) 
operating within Texas are required to have an 
active certificate of motor carrier registration and 
abide by the motor carrier rules and regulations 
under Chapter 218 of title 43, Texas Administrative 
Code. This includes major van lines, as well as local 
movers with trucks and trailers. If you are planning 
to hire a moving company in Texas, we want you to 
be aware of your rights and responsibilities when 
choosing a mover. Find more information at  
www.TxDMV.gov.

Choosing Your Mover  
There are many moving companies, 
so choose your mover carefully. 
Shop around to find the best 
prices and services. TxDMV does not 
regulate fees charged by movers and as a state 
agency, we will not recommend specific moving 
companies. However, we do provide a searchable 
database on 
our website (www.TxDMV.gov) that you can access 
to verify whether your mover is properly registered. By 
contacting the department’s Enforcement Division at 
1(888) 368-4689, you can obtain information regarding 
your mover’s complaint history. You can also contact 
the Better Business Bureau (www.bbb.org) for 
additional information regarding your mover.

Proposal for Moving Services  
Once you’ve selected your mover, make sure you get 
everything in writing. Movers are required to provide 
you with a written proposal prior to loading your items. 
The proposal may be either a binding proposal (states 
the exact price of the move) or a not-to-exceed 
proposal (states the maximum price of the move), and 
must be signed by both you and the mover. 

For movers to give you an accurate estimate, you must 
be clear about the items you want moved and advise 
the mover of any special conditions, such as stairs, 
long carries or elevators that are involved in the move. 
The proposal should also indicate 
when payment is due, and what forms 
of payment are accepted, such as  
personal checks or credit cards.

Moving Services Contract  
Your mover is also required to provide 
you with a moving services contract prior to loading your 
items. The agreements on the written proposal provided by 
your mover also become a part of your contract and can 
actually be one combined document. The contract should 
contain all the information about your move including your 
name, the mover’s name, the origin and destination points 
and the amount of the mover’s  limitation of liability for loss 
or damage of your property.

Be sure all agreements between you and your mover are 
written into the moving services contract. Do not rely on 
any verbal agreements. READ AND UNDERSTAND ALL
DOCUMENTS CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING YOUR 
NAME.

DURING YOUR MOVE
Mover’s Liability 
All licensed movers have a standard liability of 60 cents 
per pound article. For example, if a 50–pound television is 
damaged as a result of a move, the mover is only required 
to reimburse you $30 (50 lbs. X 0.60 = $30). Some movers 
will assume a higher level of liability, however, it must be 
agreed upon by both parties and additional fees may be 
assessed by the mover. Keep in mind that the mover’s 
limits are not the same as insurance. You, as the shipper, 
can obtain additional insurance to protect your items. 

Insurance  
Some movers may offer to sell you transit insurance, 
which helps cover loss or damage to your goods, or you 
can purchase this type of policy from a separate insurance 
company. Your mover is required to provide you with a   
copy of the policy and any other appropriate evidence of 
    insurance purchased. Transit insurance is not regulated 
        by TxDMV or the Texas Department of Insurance 
             (TDI), so be sure to carefully read the policy to 

fully understand your coverage and any 
deductibles.

Inventory of Goods Being Moved  
Some movers may offer to prepare a descriptive 
inventory of your items for an additional cost. If an 
inventory is prepared, it should list all items to be moved 
and their condition. It should also be signed by both you 
and the mover prior to and after the move. As with any 
shipping document, you should review it for accuracy 
before signing. 

Important: Inventories are often used during the claims 
process; inspect your shipment carefully. Make sure 
all items are accounted for. If there is obvious loss or 
damage, note this on the inventory at the time of delivery.

Pickup and Delivery Dates  
Advise your mover of any deadlines that you might have 
with regards to pickup and delivery dates and times. 
Note these deadlines either on your written proposal or 
moving services contract. If you are not available at the 
agreed upon times, contact your mover immediately. If 
you alter the pickup and/or delivery dates or times you 
may be charged additional fees. 

Delivery  
Your mover must provide you with a 
completed copy of the moving services 
contract signed by both you and the 
mover upon delivery of your shipment. 
Check the condition of your property and make any 
damage notations on the contract document before 
signing. 

Paying the Moving Company  
Remember that the last amended contract or written 
proposal lists the total price that you will be required to 
pay at the time of delivery. You should be prepared to 
pay the maximum amount shown on the written proposal 
provided by the mover.

IN CASE OF A PROBLEM
Claims  
If you have any disputes about charges, loss or damage 
to your items, you need to file a written claim with the 
mover within 90 days of the delivery date 
and must include enough information for the mover to 
investigate your claim along with any specific monetary 
amounts requested or other solutions you are seeking. 
Your mover has 20 days to respond acknowledging your 
claim and has 90 days to pay, deny or make a settlement 
offer. If your claim involves damaged goods, you should 
preserve the containers and the damaged goods. 
The mover has the right to inspect any containers or 
damaged goods within 30 days of receiving your claim. 

Important: If your mover does not receive the claim within        
90 days of delivery, your claim can be denied. 
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